16/05/16: The Day I Gone Vegan

Standard

I just thought I’d write a short post to inform whoever might care, as of one week today I’ve been trying a vegan diet.

I thought it made sense to make it known the reason why all of the recipes I upload from now on will suddenly turn vegan (if not obvious already).

So yes, I’m officially vegan. And to be honest, I’m very surprised at how easy the transition has been so far. I know I’m only a week in, but the array of mouthwatering recipes I’ve seen and foods I’ve tried has already left me super excited about this new endeavour.

And of course, the fact that I’ll no longer be adding to the already huge problem of animal based diets, which is not only detrimental to human health and our planet, but also horrific for our fellow animal beings.

I shall try not to preach; for a few years now I’ve known that the time will eventually come for me to become vegetarian. And more research into veganism led me to realise this diet made the most sense.

I’d already cut out the majority of dairy products, indulging in protein yogurt or a bit of cheese now and then. And my replacement of meat products for veggies and legumes has been going on for a while now too. So basically I was already half way there.

Now I’ve taken the plunge. The biggest challenge will certainly be the chocolate addiction… but I’ve already seen and tried lots of exciting vegan alternatives. And they’re not only dairy free, but actually healthy for you!! Definitely exciting times ahead.

I’m glad I can rest peacefully at night knowing I’m no longer adding to the problem, but doing my best to actively be part of the solution. And although there will likely be some tough times ahead (eating out is my favourite pastime), I’m super excited and ready to embrace change, for the betterment of the planet and my Self.

Go Vegans!
😁✌

image

Recipe from Ella Woodward: Pesto Butterbeans with Spinach, Pomegranate and Pumpkin Seeds. My first attempt at a vegan dish, I wasn't disappointed..


image

First time being vegan at a BBQ on Saturday.. no biggy: mushroom (instead of chicken), pepper and onion basted in spicy peri peri sauce and cooked until crispy.. I can handle this

Leave a Reply

