Spicy Veggie Burgers

Standard

image

Veering into the world of the vegetable patty can be somewhat daunting; “how can vegetables surpass a juicy beef burger?” one has probably asked.

As a lifelong carnivore, I myself was always reluctant to even bother tempting my taste buds to adjust to what may be considered a travesty against meat eaters.

But after visiting an all-vegetarian restaurant for the first time this week, I’ve been convinced a meatless diet isn’t as bland or big a deal as my mind might have once tried to tell me.

I’ve dabbled with home-made falafal before (drool), but had continued to shy away from the veggie burger. And these were so easy!

So here is my first attempt, and they turned out super delicious! In fact, there’s so many variations I can’t wait to try mixing it up next time.

These were actually a combination of sweet potato, carrot and kidney beans. And if you’re keen to experiment with a wider range of veggie meals, I’ve included the recipe I used below:

Ingredients (makes roughly 4 patties):

1-2 carrots, grated
2 sweet potatoes
1 can red kidney beans
1 tsp tahini (optional, but adds flavour and helps bind everything together)
Chilli flakes
2 garlic cloves, finely chopped
Pink himalayan salt/black pepper to taste
Sesame seeds, for a crispy outer layer
1tbsp olive oil

Method:

Preheat oven to 200°

Cook the potatoes  (I boiled until soft but roast is of course an option), then mash up in a bowl.

Drain and rinse the kidney beans, mash them up or put them through a food processor until smooth (I kept a few in chunks as I enjoy the ‘bite’ of a kidney bean).

Mix beans and potato together with the carrot, garlic, tahini and chilli flakes, season with salt and pepper if needed.

Spread the olive oil evenly across a baking tray.

When all ingredients are combined well, roll into patties and sprinkle with sesame seeds (or breadcrumbs, etc) to give a nice crispy outside.

Place onto baking tray and turn over so they’re coated in oil on both sides.

Pop into the oven and cook for 20-30 minutes, turning halfway through.

Serve on toasted brioche bun, topped with houmous and crispy salad (..or however you fancy, baby).

Tasty, filling, nutritous and not an animal in sight! Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

