A Hippy’s Day in Whitby

Standard

I recently visited ‘the UK’s Goth Central’, the quaint little town of Whitby. Coaching through the Yorkshire Moors and its lashings of purple and red heather fields, I got excited. Beautiful rolling hills and endless paths and trees. Not knowing what to expect, the only reference I had to Whitby in my head was from Robert Swindells’s eerie book Room 13, which I’d read over and over as a kid. And I must say, when we arrived, I decided immediately it was a delightful place.

The docks and beach merge peacefully, the scent of fresh fish and chips washing on to the seafront, mixing with the salty sea like an invisible enticement.

Mindful of the giant seagulls (if they were seagulls) that might dive in at any minute, I savoured my scampi for as long as possible, before revitalising with a long awaited grounding.

Burying your bare feet in the sand and letting the sea wash around you really is one of the best grounding practices I’ve felt. Then I got excited over a couple of tiny coves (“I’m inside Earth!”) and snuck a doobie in near some rocks. With another giant bird lingering nearby… so big I was shocked when it turned out to be a baby version.

image

Walked up the 199 Steps to Whitby Abbey, and watched a 3-man (1 woman, 2 men) outdoor performance of Bram Stoker’s Dracula. It actually turned in to a lot of laughter and improv from the cast, as one guy in particular (who was absolutely brilliant) couldn’t help but keep drawing attention to a repeatedly naughty kid in the audience, through his dialogue in the play. It was actually hilarious, the guy had me in stitches. Though I’m not sure I’d have enjoyed it half as much had it not been for their unexpected hilarity. None the less, I could feel the historic energy surrounding the place, and it was a great experience.
image

image

image

The ride back even blessed us with a rainbow and a beautiful sunset. Real heavenly. And I was settled by the thought that I was unsurprised, alas naturally grateful, that the day ended in such a beautiful way. It had manifested perfectly and I accepted it.

image

image

Oh, and then there was this giant full moon which I couldn’t capture on my phone through the coach window. Alas! It was a perfect moment.

All in all a great town, spotted a campsite just down the road too. I’d definitely go again- Halloween would be great- as there were a few more areas I’d like to see. And the vibe would be perfect on October 31…

Thank you all for reading, and I bid you all goodnight! I shall retire to my coffin now.

image

image

image

image

image
image

image

Leave a Reply

