Don’t Say the ‘C’ Word..

Standard

In the past couple of weeks, Western society has bared witness to itself and its wondrous capabilities in the name of charity. I’m talking of course about the ‘no make-up selfie’ nominations and cancer awareness.

Well, my initial reaction (after the endless photos on my Facebook feed became unbearable), was this:

Image

 

Now I know what some of you are likely thinking- that it was insensitive, harsh or even cocky. But I rarely speak my own words on Facebook, unless it is something I feel extremely strongly about (as this was). I won’t divulge the amount of ‘likes’ it attained, as this is just encouraging the reality that fed my fury in the first place.

Girls posting these ‘selfies’ (I also cringe at that word), are not doing so in a purely selfless way, with just ‘cancer’ at the heart of the post. How can I make this clearer… a ‘selfie’, is just that- concerned with the self. I am not for a second insinuating these pictures were posted with malice or selfishness- I know people were trying to do a good thing and even subconsciously, most of them would not have been aware how narcissistic the whole thing actually is.

There were two things that ground my gears throughout this whole charade:

1. Girls should not be encouraged to think it’s ‘brave’ to post a picture of themselves online with no make-up. To be honest I think this point is extremely self-explanatory, but let me elaborate…

From a young age in this society, girls are encouraged to paint their faces in this crap. They are encouraged to cover up their true image, their true self, and thus their true self-CONFIDENCE, in order to appear either more socially acceptable, or sexually desirable. And do I have to stress, that NEITHER should be necessary. Let alone it then spiralling so far out of control that girls are appearing as heroes for showing their real face without the crap on it.

I know too many people who don’t even leave the house without make-up. This is not an exaggeration, though it probably sounds it to many people (especially males, who probably find it hard to believe girls are so dependent on products to cover up their real skin or eyelashes- a lot of the time FOR the acceptance of the male!). I just think women should be open to living and expressing who they are freely, without loading their precious skin with chemicals (expensive ones at that), in return to serve the economy, support capitalism and appear desirable to the opposite (or same) sex.

There are far too many females in our society who battle with self-issues everyday, and this kind of charade only serves and encourages that. Using cancer as a means to promote this concept, and vice versa, just seems paradoxically ridiculous. Cancer is cancer, and make-up is make-up. The two can’t even begin to be combined as doing good for one another.

2. Cancer is something we are already very, VERY aware of. As we are all probably AWARE, cancer now affects 1 in 3 people. That’s a lot of people suffering from cancer. Do we really need reminding that cancer is there? What about the starving children in Africa- in fact, what about the starving children in the UK and USA, two of the most affluent countries in the world?! People are being left to starve by their own governments, the same governments who encourage us to donate our hard earned tokens to cancer ‘research’, one of the biggest, ‘richest’ (for want of a better word) charities in the world. As this (brave) girl finely put…

Image

 

Perhaps I need say no more on the above point.

But I certainly do not appreciate people’s only defence against anybody who spoke out about this intriguing ’cause’, being that they must not have ever suffered, or known anybody to suffer, from this terrible dis-ease. This is completely irrelevant, and well, ignorant. And of course, it always comes down to ignorance.

Well I’m sorry, but that’s just what it is. It is dis-ease. Human dis-ease caused by the heavy burdens of the modern world. Life is EXTREMELY difficult upon Mother Earth right now. And dis-ease is just one exemplary factor- until we all wake up, learn true compassion and become One with nature and the Universe, we will continue to suffer from such terrible, even deadly ailments.

Until people learn to heal themselves from within first (‘conscious medicine’ is a term I especially like), they will never be able to defend themselves from dis-ease before it begins.

So after a week or so, after my blood had stopped boiling and I had cleansed myself of all the negative energy that was socially rife during this whole thing, I closed the Facechapter via Facebook:

Image

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

