You will laugh at your bullies in a few years… honest

Standard

Yesterday I heard the saddest story on the news about a 14 year old girl who hung herself after constant online abuse. This included people actually telling her to kill herself.

Then I found out she was from my hometown and I don’t know why this saddens me even more.

When I hear such stories (they are certainly not uncommon), I always wonder how it might have been if the internet had the same capacity for personal attacks when I was 14.

To keep it short, I was submitted to enough to face to face/ behind my back bullying througout my teens, and it did get a bit hard at one point during the peak of MSN Messenger, (lol) but I still somehow always had the strength to ignore and move on. Maybe ‘ignore’ is the wrong word, because words really do stay with you. What I mean is look past the people, to the future. A future of my own which those people will not be a part of. Of course I always knew I would never be the best looking, or even the most satisfactory, but I knew inside that if I let the insults play on my mind, then I’m just as shallow as the people throwing them.

Anyway, it just breaks my heart when I hear such stories of kids with their WHOLE lives ahead of them. I just wish I could shake them (I’m not really a hugger lol) and tell them that THIS is not ‘life’. Yes, you will meet twats EVERYWHERE you go, throughout your whole life, but you will also meet people who grow to care about you, and who you care for back. Friends, lovers, friends kids, dogs, etc. You know. I just want to show them that it doesn’t stay that way forever, and that it really DOES get easier, in fact it gets BETTER. For most people it actually gets very GOOD, great, even fantastic.

When I think back, I actually got bullied by a fat girl and a ginger kid. Typical eh. But they’ll always have their flaws, just like I have mine, and everybody has their own. Whether it is physical appearance, mental ability, selfishness, pride, jealousy or just a hairy back. We learn that these things really do not matter in the long run, and life can be amazing if we let these perceptions of ourselves and everything around us go. If we just live, because we’re here and because we can, not harming others and instead helping, bringing positivity, then that beauty shines through brighter than any pretty face ever will. People can sense it in you. And they really do look past your weird nose and cherish the person inside.

Please don’t anybody give in or succumb to such irrelevant crap. Be a survivor.

Leave a Reply

